Stanley Adventure 24 oz Camp Cook Set

I have used an Army Canteen cup since I was issued the first one in Germany for most of my camping needs.  The one I used for the first 12 or 13 years was the newer wire handled.  And after it was lost, I found one of the single handled WWII models which I much preferred.  Well low and behold I haven’t been able to find it for 2 months.   Kind of bummed.  I loved it.

2 10 oz cups nested inside.

2 10 oz cups nested inside.

But figured it might be time to try something new.  I have seen this Stanley cup set for a while at various places.  Ranging from $15.99 to $22.00.  Finally broke down and grabbed one when it was the last one on the shelf and on clearances for $11.99.   It comes with 2 x 10oz insulated cups and a self-standing plastic tab on the lid.  It has a folding handle that holds the lid on when it’s stowed away.

The handle locks in the down position VERY securely.  Excellent design.

The handle locks in the down position VERY securely. Excellent design.

One of the ups on top to show the size.

One of the ups on top to show the size.

Not a bad size.  Not too big, not too small.

Not a bad size. Not too big, not too small.

The Good:

The pot itself is excellent.  Not ungodly heavy, but not an ultralight.  Thick enough to handle some abuse and live to tell the tale.   The gradient numbers on the side are a nice touch.  I don’t measure much when I’m cooking in the field myself, but they are very clear and easy to read.

The handle has two positions.  Extended and lid locked.  When extended it locks into position very well.  This makes pouring a breeze.  The thin metal handle cools down quickly, but as any metal handle on an open fire, be careful.

The plastic tab on the lid locks into a vertical position which is very handy.  Makes it easy to handle and control the lid.  2015-03-22 14.35.51 2015-03-22 14.35.41It is plastic so be careful what kind of fire you put the cup on to ensure you don’t melt it.

Stays locked shut very well.  You can just toss it in a bag and not worry about it coming open.

The Bad:

I don’t care for the cups, they are very heavy and thick, way thicker than necessary for thermal protection.   They are billed as insulated, but without a lid, they won’t make a tremendous difference in heat retention.    They also take up nearly 50% of the inside volume when stored.  A pair of thinner nested plastic cups would leave far more volume for other gear, spices, food, coffee, coffee, (Yes I said coffee twice LOL).  I’ll be on the lookout for a cup that fits well inside without burning up so much space.

No carrier option.  I got really used to my canteen cup carabineered to my pack.  It was always handy and ready to go.  This system would need to go inside a bag or come up with a strap option.  (I’m currently working on using an old laptop bag strap to clasp it.

Final take.  For the price.  It’s worth it just for the pot alone.  Where it will really shine is mods, what you do with it after you own it.   For example.  I ran across this mod below.  The funny thing is.  I dropped my French press in the kitchen 2 days before I wrote this.  Broke the glass so I tossed it.  Well. Tonight before I started writing this, I watched the video below, went out and dug through 4 bags of garbage to find the one I had the broken press in, dug the parts out.  Washed them and presto, fits like a glove.

Cooking away on a fire my son built.

Cooking away on a fire my son built.

So for me, this is not going to be my normal carry cup, however, this set will become my lightweight coffee system.   Normally I use a percolator and a camp stove, or just make cowboy coffee, so it will be pleasant to have the features of a French press along with a kit that will cook a meal as needed.

My oldest boy and I enjoying some tea.

My oldest boy and I enjoying some tea.

Check out this video by Team Disoriented that showed me that my broken french press was going to have more life!

2015-03-27 21.36.07

French Press parts

2015-03-27 21.36.36

The press fits in to the upper crimped area and you can just pour through it like a strainer.

Fully pressed, snug and perfect fit.

Fully pressed, snug and perfect fit.

About Docwatmo

Just an average guy reviewing equipment for the average guy (or gal). View all posts by Docwatmo

2 responses to “Stanley Adventure 24 oz Camp Cook Set

Leave a Reply

