Lighting Your Way

Flashlights, I love them and I hate them.  There are so many different types, styles, features etc out there that choosing one can be as tough as picking out your next Concealed Carry Sidearm (Don’t get me started on that one, Haa, Haa).  I did the whole over done researched to death thing looking for the perfect EDC pocket carry flashlight.  What I determined was that I was too poor to purchase the lights that I really wanted.  So I needed something tough, on a budget that would work for me.  This was all about a year and a half ago.   What I found in my budget range back then ($30 maximum) was the Pelican 2360.   I had 4 primary needs in a flashlight.

  1. It had to be small enough that I could pocket carry it any time any where not not so small as to be under powered or unusable for defensive purposes.
  2. It had to be bright enough to serve as a tactical light.  I wanted it to be able to make an aggressor at least blink or look away
  3. It had to use standard off the shelf AA batteries as they are the most common and I have plenty of them stored for long term use.
  4. It had to be tough enough to not fall apart (Like my Pelican Versabrite light which has since been replaced by the Versabrite II which is a tougher design).

I seem to always come back to Pelican for lights because the price is right.  There are far better more powerful, more useful lights out there, but you wont find many in the sub $30 range that meet my requirements as well as the 2360.  A $180 surefire would be awesome, but realistically, I can’t spend that much on a flashlight and there is the added complication of changing modes.   After all, it’s primary duty is to provide light and a $3 cheapo from the dollar store can do that 90% of the time.  But sometimes you want a little more, something you can hang onto for an extended period of time, get used to until it becomes a little Zen in your hand, an extension of your hand so to speak.

Flashlight

You can see the wear but its still 100% functional

That’s what I love about this flashlight, the size is just right, not too big, not too small.  It is tough, but the aluminum bezel is a little thin which is the only complaint I have which is minor.  (I’d like to see a little heavier metal on the front bezel.   After 18 months banging around in my pocket, it still works like a champ, some of the black paint has worn off and the bezel is starting to bend over a tad bit, but it takes the abuse as well as any flashlight or tool I’ve used.

It’s bright.  110 Lumes isn’t as tactically bright as some of the others, but it is one you cannot look into.  The difference is, its not so bright that you can’t use it for day to day use.  If it were any brighter, I would not want to use it for general flashlight tasks like looking at a map, or any other close up work.  This light is a very good balance of light.

Bent Bezel

The bezel is slightly bent, not enough to cause any problems though.

This is a one mode flashlight, meaning it’s on or its off.  It’s not programmable and has no low/high light functions.  The tail-cap switch is good, but could use a higher bezel.  I have inadvertently turned it on in my pocket twice and it gets pretty warm.  The tail cap can be soft pressed to show light without “Clicking” it on, comes in handy when you just need a quick flash of light.

Battery life with continuous use is roughly 2 hours.  Which is pretty standard for 2 AA batteris and 110 lums.  Again, I’d love to have one of the multi funciton lights that has a low/high option but the price starts getting out of hand.

Now take this review with a grain of salt, I have not spent much time researching flashlights since this purchase over a year ago.  Prices may have come down on some models and advancements in LED and circuit technology have been made.  A quick search turned up this great deal on a similar light from Streamlight for $40.

For the money, this was one of the best lights available.   Its still a great buy on Amazon at about $28 to $32 that meets the criteria I set out for myself.  Your mileage might vary.  I do appreciate the single function of this light.  No switches to mess with, no complicated bezel maneuvers are needed to change lighting modes.  It’s on or off, nothing complicated.  Makes for a solid easy to learn and familiar flashlight.

About Docwatmo

Just an average guy reviewing equipment for the average guy (or gal). View all posts by Docwatmo

3 responses to “Lighting Your Way

  • Docwatmo

    By the way, one of the reasons I picked the $30 range in my budget was that I wouldn’t be too upset if I misplaced or lost a #30 flashlight, but if I had a $100 light disappear on me, I’d be upset AND I would probably have a hard time replacing it at that price.

  • Fritz

    I’m in complete agreement with keeping a flashlight affordable. It amazes me that people will spend $100+ for a flashlight. I’m sure there are reasons, but for me it is not in the budget.

    I have several flashlights in the $15-$30 range. But I also have dozens of the 3 AAA cell LED flashlights that you can get from places like Home Depot. These cheap flashlights are in practically every drawer in the house and every jacket I own has on in a pocket. Would I trust my life to it? Nope, but it certainly will help me get to my good stuff and keeping them always available ensures there is always a flashlight in reach.

  • Docwatmo

    Yep, I picked up an AWESOME flashlight at Theisens for $5.99, 2 stage 3 AAA LED. Amazingly bright, pretty good size (Though I prefer the 2 AA longer thinner lights to the fat 3 AAA but I digress). I owned that amazing flashlight for a little over 6 hours before I left it on the bumper of the van while I was digging through the emergency box to inventory it. It fell off and I didn’t notice and drove over it the next morning. Wasn’t too heartbroken either. We have roughly 2 dozen of the little disposable LED lights around the house and in the vehicles. They work great. If I need to head into combat, yeah, I’d want a tough as nails Surefire or something, but for day to day use. The many cheap lights are superior to a single overpriced light. Not that I wouldn’t own a couple if I could afford them, but they are more of a luxury item than a necessity.

Leave a Reply

